Employers who fail to adhere to the laws that guide their employees’ wages and working hours cheat their employees out of pay, and the State of California takes a dim view of these practices. If this is the difficult position you find yourself in, you need the skilled legal guidance of an experienced wage and hour attorney in San Francisco.
California employs exacting wage and hour laws, which are intended to help ensure that all employees are paid no less than the minimum wage and that overtime is calculated correctly and paid in accordance with the law (for nonexempt employees).
The minimum wage requirements as they currently stand include all the following:
The term nonexempt refers to those employees who are not exempt from the minimum wage and overtime requirements. Exempt refers to those employees who are exempt from these requirements, but calling an employee or a job position exempt does not make it so. In order to qualify as exempt, the employee must be paid a salary – rather than earning hourly wages – of $62,400 annually (for those who work for employers who have at least 26 employees).
In California, nonexempt employees must be paid overtime in the amount of time and a half (150 percent) in all the following scenarios:
Additionally, nonexempt employees are entitled to overtime pay for the first eight hours of work they put in on the seventh day of a given workweek.
Overtime rises to double time when the following apply:
Some of the most common wage and hour violations that employers engage in include the following:
If your employer is cheating you out of the pay to which you are entitled, the formidable wage and hour attorneys at Olivier & Schreiber LLP in San Francisco are committed to skillfully advocating for your case’s fair resolution. To learn more about what we can do to help you, please don’t delay reaching out and contacting us for more information today.
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.